Zimring Laboratory

“Curing certain diseases and mitigating the suffering they cause inspires me to carry out basic and translational research in transfusion medicine and non-malignant hematology.” James Zimring, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Zimring’s research lab studies both the mechanisms by which such immunizations occur and potential therapeutic interventions to either prevent or overcome it.

Immune Responses to Blood Cells

  • When a recipient receives a blood transfusion, their immune system can make antibodies against the donor blood. When enough of these antibodies are formed, it can be difficult, and at times impossible, to find compatible blood for a patient. In such cases, the immune response may deprive a patient of otherwise life saving therapy.
  • When a pregnant woman makes an immune response to the blood cells of her fetus, fetal death can occur.
  • Some patients mount antibody responses against their own blood cells, which can result in sickness and in some cases death.

Laboratory Members

Ariel Hay
Research Technologist II
Email: ArielH@BloodworksNW.org
Phone: (206) 568-2173
Heather Howie, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Email: HeatherHow@bloodworksnw.org
Phone: (206) 568-2245
Jenna Lebedev
Research Technologist I
Email: JennaL@BloodworksNW.org
Phone: (206) 568-2226
Linda Kapp
Research Technologist IV
Email: LindaK@bloodworksnw.org
Phone: (206) 568-2249
Jacqueline Poston, M.D.
Research Fellow
Email:  JPoston@Bloodworksnw.org
Xiaohong Wang
Research Technologist IV
Email: XiaohongW@bloodworksnw.org
Phone: (206) 568-2198
Paurvi Shinde, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Email: PShinde@Bloodworksnw.org
Phone: (206) 568-2235

James Zimring, MD, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer
Bloodworks Northwest

Bloodworks Northwest
Research Institute
1551 Eastlake Avenue E, Suite 100
Seattle, WA 98102

Email: jzimring@bloodworksnw.org
UW Mailstop 359190
Phone: (206) 568-2234

Renetta Stevens
Research Administrator
Email: RenettaS@bloodworksnw.org
Phone: (206) 568-2244
Fax: (206) 587-6056

Your gift of blood, time or money saves lives.